Moira’s Cancer According To Seinfeld

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 26, 2009: MORTY: “All right, all right, Let’s go already. They keep you in here a year. They don’t give a damn. I could die in here. . . . Excuse me! Excuse me! What’s going on? I’m here twenty minutes. Could somebody please help me?”

40265701denn_20020320_00353.jpgToday. My last chemo. It’s at a new location, connected with Memorial Hospital, since for some reason my new insurance doesn’t cover it being done at my oncologist’s office. This place is larger, one big room with about 7 treatment chairs. You can bring a friend here—at Oncol, the rooms are too small for that. The nurse is nice; very chatty but professional as she swoops around to each patient. We talk about my treatment, and IVs, chemicals, administration. I’m surprised at how knowledgeable I am about this stuff—a year ago; I only set foot in a doctor’s office for an annual exam and nothing more.

 

I was a little depressed last night. I picked up my anti-nausea meds, which solidified the fact that I would be ill. I have been feeling so strong that I just am bummed that I have to be sick again. But I am so, so very happy to know that this is the last one for this treatment. I am telling myself, in 5 days, you will be on the mend.

 

How odd it is, to sit here amongst this bank of strangers, all sitting next to humming machines that pump poison into their systems, and know that we all have this connection? God I hate this shit. Already I can feel the subtle onset of the chemicals. My mouth is dry (we are supposed to drink quarts of water the first day to flush out as much of the toxins as we can). As David Puddy says, it’s gonna be rough…

January 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I was wondering when you’d update your blog. I’m so glad you had your LAST treatment. Once you get through this it will be over and we’ll have to celebrate.

    Comment by Micaela | January 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. Moira, you are very inspiring. You have such courage.

    Comment by Audrey | January 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

